OLLI at California State University Fullerton provides active, older adults with opportunities to continue learning in a university setting, to engage with peers, to serve our communities, and to support and enhance the activities of the University.


  • Provide lifelong learning opportunities in courses and activities desired and determined by the membership,
  • Collaborate with other California State University Fullerton (CSUF) organizations,
  • Provide members the means to coordinate, teach, and participate in activities and to thereby share their wealth of knowledge and expertise,
  • Create a social milieu that enables members to enjoy fellowship with their peers,
  • Provide volunteering opportunities within the CSUF community



Executive Committee

President Jim Monroe
Vice President Administration Joyce Ono
Vice President Programs Benson Chin
Vice President Communication Dan Coby
Vice President External Relations Janice Jeng
Vice President Membership Services Ellie Monroe
Vice President Technology Rick Hearn
Vice President Facilities Thomas Gortner
Vice President Hospitality Jean Bryant
Secretary Chris Shaw
Treasurer Tom Toby
Parliamentarian Phillip Barnhard


Phillip Barnhard, Jim Cenname, Jim Ertle, Lee Ann Donaldson, Joanne Hardy, Sandy Jones, Susan Snell, Dianne Wallace, Doretta Wedin, Barry Escoe  (Past President) 


Kari Knutson Miller, Dean of University Extended Education and Associate Vice President of International Programs & Global Engagement

Caroline Carpenter, Associate Dean, University Extended Education, Strategic Operations

Brandy Schaal, Program Manager, University Extended Education

Patsy Burns, Administrative Manager OLLI 

Appointed Positions

Blue Book Chris Shaw, Editor
ChroniCLE Chris Shaw, Editor
Collaboration Committee Janice Jeng, Chair
Computer Education Committee Bob Newcomb, Chair and Warren Wilson, Vice-chair
Coordinator Training Ellie Monroe
Curriculum Committee Judy Alter, Chair and Renee Cabrera, Vice-chair
Development/Philanthropy Committee Jim Monroe, Chair
Docents Ellie Monroe
Facilities Operations Thomas Gortner
Friendship/In Memoriam Debbie Maxwell
Fund Raising Committee Barry Escoe, Chair
Gifts and Awards Committee Benson Chin, Chair
Grants Committee Don Lake, Chair
Historian Len Leventhal
Hospitality Committee Gayle Wheatley, Chair
Kitchen Team Arie Passchierr, Lead
Library Team Tony Package, Lead
Long Term Plan 2016-2021 Jim Monroe, Chair, Glenn Kawafuchi (Consultant)
Mailing Committee Ellie Monroe, Jean Bryant, Co-Chairs
Membership Services Committee Ellie Monroe, Chair, Joanne Hardy, Vice-chair
New Member Survey Carol Thurk
New Member Orientation Committee Ellie Monroe, Chair
Nomination Committee Don Lake, Chair
Office Support Team Carol Thurk, Lead
OLLI Budget Committee Jim Bradsher, Chair
OLLI Events Open to the Public Melinda Wiltsie, Editor
OLLI Financial Advisory Group Joyce Ono, Chair
OLLI News Bytes Ginger Barnhart, Editor
OLLI Personnel Committee Joyce Ono
OLLI Policies and Procedures Committee Joyce Ono, Mike Stover, Co-chair
OLLI Trips Committee Ken Luke, Chair
OLLI Trolley Open
Parking Committee Joyce Ono, Chair
Photo Resource Committee Jim Cenname, Chair
President's Advisory Council Barry Escoe, Chair
Registration Team Ellie Monroe, Lead
Scholarship Committee Suzanne Mills, Chair
Speakers Bureau John Blades, Lead
Technology Committee Rick Hearn, Chair
Transitions in Retirement Curriculum Committee Russell MacKeand, Chair
Website Committee Dan Coby, Chair
90+ Program Karen Bell 

Blue Book Editorial Staff

Editor: Chris Shaw

Copy Editors: Judy Alter, Susan Hanna, Linda Kapiloff, Char Oliva

Bluebook Section Editors: Ellen Busch, Renee Cabrera, Joanne Hardy, Carole Johnson, Ellie Monroe, Marjorie Mota, Joyce Ono, Beverly Risse, Carol Thurk, and Barbara Vigano 

Scheduling: Benson Chin, Joyce Ono, Carole Thurk

Indexing / Distribution: Judy Alter, Celia Reynolds, Michelle Sanford

Production: Mandy Loo and Nancy Hill from University Extended Education

Communications Staff

Chair: Dan Coby, VP Communications


Editor: Chris Shaw

Staff writers: Denny Bean, Juanita Driskell, Alice Gresto, Elaine Mitchell

Desktop publishing: Celia Reynolds

Photographers: John Blaydes, Sharon Brown, Jim Cenname, Will Cornell, Mary Crouch, Kirt Spradlin, and Warren Wilson

Newsletter Editors: 

OLLI News Bytes editor: Ginger Barnhart

OLLI Events Open to the Public editor: Melinda Wiltsie

Shapiro Bulletin Board display:

Jim Cenname

Web editors:

Dan Coby, Winnie Ho, Carole Johnson, Bev Risse, Ginger Barnhart

Web Support, University Extended Education:

Raymundo Venegas, Brian Vo, Raven Mansen